DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


SIMM memory: What is the maximum size?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 3:27 am     Post subject: SIMM memory: What is the maximum size? Reply with quote

I have just bought a lot of SIMM-MEMORIES, but, unfortunately, i have only 2 slots on my motherboard, and I couldn't go over 16 MB. I know that tis kind o f memory must be installed "in pairs", but, I would like to know the maximum size for a single-simm memory. Aren't there any 128 MB-SIMM?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4651

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

There most certainly is 32 MB simms. Why wouldnt there be?

EDIT After Identity Crisis Corrected me


Last edited by Wally on Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Identity Crisis
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK, SIMMs only go up to 32 MB per stick.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:27 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Now then, please make sure you clarify what type of SIMM slots these are, the older 30-pin kind which had to be installed in either matched pairs or matched quads, depending on the motherboard of course Wink. Or the 72-pin variety, in which case these did indeed go up to both 64MB and 128MB capacities.

I recall that 30-pin SIMM modules only went up to 16MB in capacity, which were extremely expensive at the time.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Most older systems only like 32M 72pin simms or smaller (especialy 486 systems).

30 Pin memory came in 256K,1M,2M (rare),4M,8M (not too common) and 16M
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 12:07 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah K, you're right, I kind of forgot about this, I guess it depends on the make/model machine and/or motherboard.

I wonder however if you can still find some firmware updates for these older machines ?!?

Guess that depends on how much Google finds for you Wink
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 10:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Older machines had burned roms, not flashable firmware like in the later machines Pentium and later.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 10:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I seem to recall that too, however I think Asus may have been one of the early adopters of EEPROM Wink
Back to top
kreats
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup jmmijo is right, 30 pin simms go up to 16MB and 72 pin simms go up to 128MB

In the PC world, not many 486 motherboards supported 16MB 30 pin, and mainly Pentium Pro chipsets supported 64Mb+ simms of 72 Pin.

You'll find lots of non-pc related machines that support larger simms though (68k macintoshes, amigas, sun boxes, etc). 16Mb 30 pin is popular for maxing out old macs like the SE/30 (which can take 128MB).
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:39 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My Quadra 950 (Mac) takes 16x16mb 30 pin simms for 256MB total (I have 3 banks of 16mb and one of 4mb in it now)
Back to top
kreats
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 26 May 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, so did mine until the power supply died! It is insanely heavy and impossible to find a replacement for it.. I considered doing an atx power supply mod, but I don't want a frankenmac.

I used to have the dream of building it up into an avid workstation.. but think I'll have to let that one go now sadly.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another 950 with a dead PS, still hoping to find a replacement for it.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4651

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i got a quaDRA 900 with the same amount of ram
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)