DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Turbo Switch Troubles

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Matt
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:29 pm     Post subject: Turbo Switch Troubles Reply with quote

To Whomever It May Concern,

I am trying to build a good dos system but am having trouble getting the turbo button hooked up. This functionality is very important to me because the 486 DX-2 w/ 66 Mghz is still too fast on a few of my really old dos games.

The problem is like this. My case has a 3 pin turbo switch connector, the wires being BLACK, WHITE, & ORANGE in that order; but my motherboard only has a two pin turbo connector to attach it to. I have tried plugging it in in both directions, WHITE & BLACK together/ WHITE & ORANGE together, but neither of them work.

Does this mean that I will need to break the plastic covering somehow in order to seperate the 3 pins so that I can try connecting BLACK & ORANGE together; as I have been unable to try that so far because of the fact that there are 3 pins on the wire and WHITE is in the middle?

Furthemore, which colors designate - & + and etc.?

I would have tried doing this already, but I'm not sure if accidently connecting the pins wring can harm my hardware, or if break the plastic plug end in order to seperate the 3 pins is even a good idea.

Please help me if you can, and thanks,

Matt
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you're ought to consider a software slowdown utility.

SLOWDOWN is my favorite.
Back to top
Matt
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, but I HATE software slowdowns. I want the real thing.
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2402
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I searched the PC Guide (the best place to read about hardware issues like this) and it sounds like it depends on your motherboard ...

http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/comp/case/ledNoTurboSwitch-c.html

So, if you have or can find the manual for your motherboard, you may be able to get the info that way.

But, like dr_st suggested, using a software-based slowdown utility works just as well. If your computer is working fine now, I wouldn't bother messing with the Turbo button at all, and would just use a slowdown program, like Moslo (download it at the bottom of that page). This also has the added benefit of being able to control exactly how much slower you want the game to run. (ie. with Moslow you can specify that you want the game to run at 50% of normal speed, or 35% or whatever) Congratulatory
Back to top
Matt
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the article didn't help, and I've noticed that when using slow-downs like MoSlo that the performance gets somewhat shaky. I want it to be smooth as possible.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)