DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Star Trek The next Generation A final unity
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:40 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

OS?
Dosbox version?
Mount lines?
Inputs to run the game?
Config choices?
Detailed please.
Back to top
Lewis
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:05 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No prob,

OS = Windows 7 pro 64bit

Dos box version = 0.74

Config =
Audio=SB8
Port=0x220
IRQ=0x7
DMA=0x1
Video=LO8
Sound=ON
Music=ON
Voices=ON
Movies=ON
Advice=0x0
VolMusic=0x57b3
VolSound=0x548a
Dialogs=ON
Scale=ON
DPixel=OFF
Path=F:\
CD=F:\STTNG(T)\
UniVESA=OFF

It is mounted on to Drive F:\

Cheers
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

[Echo]
dosraider wrote:

Mount lines?
Inputs to run the game?

Config choices?
Detailed please.

[/Echo]
Back to top
Lewis
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure what you mean by "mount lines" or "inputs to run the game"

I have already listed the config choices.

Cheers
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:09 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Lewis wrote:
I am not sure what you mean by "mount lines" or "inputs to run the game"

You need to mount a virtual C and CD in dosbox.
How do you do that? Detailed, the commands you use.

You need to input commands in dosbox to run the game.
How do you do that? Detailed, the commands you use.
Back to top
Lewis
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah right, No Prob.

Ok when i load Dos box, It is set to Z drive as default. First thing i type is "Mount F F:\"

Then i type "F:\" then "cd Sttng" So then i have F:\STTNG> then i just type STTNG again and the game runs.

I have installed the game manually as described earlier in the forum, I tranfered the contents of the cd to a folder called STTNG(T) i have put in the config (ini file) to get the game to run from STTNG(T) so i dont have to actually use the cd. So i dont have to mount a virtual cd.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:26 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Lewis wrote:
I have installed the game manually as described earlier in the forum, I tranfered the contents of the cd to a folder called STTNG(T) i have put in the config (ini file) to get the game to run from STTNG(T) so i dont have to actually use the cd. So i dont have to mount a virtual cd.


You may delete ALL you have done till now, it's worthless.

First base:
as you're on Win 7 read and apply this:
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13511

Next step:
run dosbox and mount your CD as D: in dosbox.
Going by your info your CD drive under windows is F:\ , so:
mount d f:\ -t cdrom

Input
d:
And install the game from D: on C: IN DOSBOX


Last edited by dosraider on Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:03 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
guest
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I did exactly as you said in your first post.

However, when I go back to the game by mounting the CDROM on D and then the files on the C I get the "sosDIGIInitDriver" error. The only time I don't get it is when I change the STTNG.ini file back to default (just the basic file on the disc) however there are no movies that way.

So when I initially install the game like you instructed, everythings works fine sound and all. It's getting it to run again after playing it for the "first" time that is causing me problems. The only solution I can think of is reinstall the game every time.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

OS?
Dosbox version?
Mount lines?
Inputs to run the game?
Config choices?
Detailed please.
Back to top
guest
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:23 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows XP 32x
Dosbox 0.74

mount d d:\ -t cdrom
mount c c:\games\sttng (within the STTNG folder is where I installed the game so within the folder is the installed game in a folder named STTNG.....c:\games\sttng\sttng)

once mounted I enter the C: drive in dosbox

type cd\STTNG to enter actual game folder
type STTNG to enter game

Game fires up CDROM, goes to splash screen of STTNG, and then go back to dos screen with

{

sosDIGIInitDriver

C:\STTNG>


}

Once again this after the first time I play the game. When I go through the steps when I first install the game, this process works fine (and I setup the sound .ini file after playing the game without sound for a bit). The error happens only when I exit dosbox after the initial install and play and go through remounting the drives to play again.

and here is my sttng.ini file

Audio=SB8
Port=0x220
IRQ=0x7
DMA=0x1
Video=LO8
DPixel=OFF
Path=C:\GAMES\STTNG\STTNG\
CD=D:\
Sound=ON
Music=ON
Voices=ON
Movies=ON
Advice=0x0
Dialogs=ON
VolSound=0x7FFF
VolMusic=0x7FFF
UniVESA=OFF
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

guest wrote:
Windows XP 32x
mount c c:\games\sttng (within the STTNG folder is where I installed the game so within the folder is the installed game in a folder named STTNG.....c:\games\sttng\sttng)

Nope, wrong, not good at all.
Delete everything and start over from scratch, do it good this time.
As you're on WP read and APPLY this:
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/about5443.html
Now install the game in dosbox
Back to top
guest
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:40 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey man, thanks a lot for the help. Runs like a charm!
Back to top
art.kevinc
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:16 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I got STAFU to work using d-fend, but the only problem is that the sound isnt working.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:47 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
Try those choices:

-> click

Works fine here, voices and music.
Back to top
Stuart445
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:27 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
mungrin wrote:

I copied the entire CD and i had the same problem trying to install from a folder.Here is me trying to install from the CD.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v128/mungrin/DOS2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v128/mungrin/DOS.jpg

Wrong, wrong, wrong, a complete screw up.
Of course you can't install the game that way, how you want the installer to create folders and copy files to a CD .....?
Back to square one with you ......

Delete ALL you've done till now, everything, yes indeed, I mean EVERYTHING.

Next, read and apply this:
Sticky: Dosbox 0.73 and Vista. [Howto]
It's there for a reason .....

After you have done that, run dosbox and input:
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
This will correctly mount your CD drive as D: (... your CD drive is E: under windows I presume?) and you will be able to install the game from D: to C:


Hello

I am currently trying to play Star Trek The Next Generation A Final Unity using dos box 0.74 and everything seems to work including the sound but i can't save a game i've looked everywhere but none of the ways seem to work.

i'm using Windows XP and on start up of DOSBox i use the mount lines:
mount d C:\STFU\ -t cdrom

mount c C:\STTNG\

I then type C: to get it to change to the drive then type STTNG which gets the game started but it works but without being able to save game, i have looked in the STTNG file and there is a Save Game file but i just can't seem to save the games.

Can You Help Please?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Stuart445 wrote:
mount d C:\STFU\ -t cdrom

Is plain wrong.
You need the CD or image, it's all explained in previous posts.
Back to top
chadeus1975
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:49 am     Post subject: Installing STTNG AFU Reply with quote

Its obvious that after reading what people have posted that some are having problems installing the game and some are not and that some who get it installed have issues with the sound and music and some don't have the problem. I have been reading what has been posted to see if I can get my game installed but here is the wall that I hit. In dosbox it is default at Z:/. I can change it in dosbox, but when I go to install STTNG AFU, the only option I have to choose from is Z: which doesn't exist. What are my options? Is there a way to get the game to read another drive?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:08 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You must mount a virtual C: in dosbox.
Read the stickies in this sub.
Back to top
chadeus1975
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:17 pm     Post subject: STtng AFU Reply with quote

I did. The game itself only reads z drive. There are no other options. I'm still at a loss for now.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Your OS?
Your C mount line in dosbox?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)