DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


SoundBlaster 16 sound problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Mike2
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:50 pm     Post subject: SoundBlaster 16 sound problems Reply with quote

Sadly, When I use SoundBlaster 16 with my DOS games, it will not work!

Here are my specs...
Pentium 200MHZ processor
SoundBlaster 16 ISA (non plug and play) Model: CT2290
130,548 KB RAM
Windows 2000 Professional

And the sound card does not work with any of the DOS games I have tried.

It does work with Windows, but I installed the card with no driver software, just with the Add/Remove Hardware program.
If the card needs certain driver files to run DOS games, where can I find them?

Is there a way to dual boot with DOS?



Anyway, I have looked in my AUTOEXEC.BAT file, here is everything I saw in the file...

SET SOUND=C:\PROGRA~1\Creative\CTSND
SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6

It is strange it is not working with DOS games...
This card was made in the year 1994.

And here is what I typed before starting Doom 2 or any other DOS game:
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6

And when I started the game, no sound.
What do I need to do about this?
PS: I do not want VDMsound or SoundFX2000 or Zdoom, No ports, just pure.
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:35 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

All Creative ISA cards I worked with needed CTCM.EXE to initialize. That was for PnP cards, but it may also be needed for non-PnP cards. Without CTCM you will get absolutely no sound out of the card. CTCM.EXE should be present in the directory where the SB16 drivers and utilities are installed (in your case, CTSND).
Back to top
Mike2
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 2:58 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Where can I download CTCM.EXE?
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 9:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.filemirrors.com
http://www.google.com
Back to top
Mike2
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:05 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked at those two websites for that program and it returned bad results in my search. Is there some kind of driver file I can get on the net that can get my SoundBlaster 16 to function on DOS games?
Back to top
Interon 2.0
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

From what I learned in college, Windows 2000 generally sucks when it comes to old ISA cards. But hey, miracles could happen I s'pose...

Anyway, in the meantime, try the Windows NT 4.0 driver, there's a decent chance it should work with Windows 2000.

[dead link removed]

Hope this helps. Let us know how you make out. Happy
Back to top
Mike2
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:43 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I have Windows NT 4.0 operating system.
Is that operating system going to be a better operating for trying to run DOS games on a ISA SoundBlaster 16?

(Sadly, all the older system installation disks are gone exept Windows NT 4.0 and PC DOS 6.3. But sadly, I ave trouble installing PC DOS 6.3. But I can install Windows NT 4.0 on my computer.
PS: Which operating system will be better for ISA cards?
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:50 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows NT will cause nothing but trouble. Unless your a NT wiz (Which im not. I can't figure out NT myself), either stick with 2000, or go to 95/98. Im sure someone you know will lend you a disk.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)