DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


why are my graphics so bad in DOS games?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
STEEL
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:45 pm     Post subject: why are my graphics so bad in DOS games? Reply with quote

whenever i play a DOS game like a 3D shooting game, the graphics are so bad. the graphics are so pixely. in screenshots of those games, they look so clear. whats the problem?
my graphics card is geforce fx 5600. maybe i need SVGA graphic support?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4663

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

well what type of computer etc etc?
Back to top
Thunder
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 8:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

The game is probably 320x200 resolution. when you look at a screenshot the graphics are resized and you dont notice the bad graphics so much.

what games are you talking abuot anyway? unless they are 3d acceleated (which, as far as i am aware, no dos game is) there is nothing that can be done.
Back to top
hACmAn
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 3:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

DOS games can be 3d accellerated. But they where build for special hardware. For example 3DFX cards (glide driver support).

But Thunders reply is the most probable.
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:19 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Many DOS 3D shooters (Duke Nukem 3D, Blood, Shadow Warrior, Redneck Rampage, Quake) can be played in 320x200 VGA or in higher resolutions SVGA (up to 800x600 or 1024x768). If your card doesn't support VESA (might be the case with the FX5600) or if the game cannot use the card's VESA support (also possible), it won't work, and you will be limited to 320x200.
Back to top
shaunj
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:43 pm     Post subject: duh Reply with quote

the graphics are so bad because most dos games were made, a long time ago, the develpers did not know what they know today, today its 3 Ghz
in 88 it was 25Mhz
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 4:03 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

fas15381: banned.

STEEL: I'd check the resolution if I were you... for instance, I had the same problem with Quake until I started playing in 1024x768 mode, which made things a lot clearer. Most DOS 3D shooters I've played generally have very clean, nice graphics, if not somewhat primative. You may be playing a more graphically complex game, but in the wrong resolution, or improperly configured. What games are you having problems with?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)