DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


can i have a server on dosgames lke dosgames.com/MYWEBSITE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> dosgames.com Site Suggestions
Author Message
crystalcaves
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:52 am     Post subject: can i have a server on dosgames lke dosgames.com/MYWEBSITE Reply with quote

ok all I saw a lot of sites change to dosgames.com/~something

Can i have a domain ? for my crystal caves website
?

http://www.geocities.com/crystalcaveswebsite
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

emmzee tends to do that for special occasions: IE: Long time members, site affiliates, etc. You can ask tho.

Edited by emmzee to correct my name Wink

Edited by Kazer0 to correct the word correct in emmzee's correcting edit Wink

Edited by Dogbreath just for the hell of it Wink


Last edited by Kazer0 on Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2407
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 12:38 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

crystalcaves, I'll email you about this.

Generally speaking, I don't mind hosting people's sites, but at the same time I can't host EVERYONE's sites Wink So I'll have to decide stuff like that on a case-by-case basis. Sites cannot be hosted at all if they require a lot of space and/or bandwidth. (Or ASP! That thing is a biatch, in terms of increasing server load nsuch.)
Back to top
crystalcaves
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:14 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

hi
emmzee

Sorry fot that but I just asked beacasue the geocities server contains a lot of errors when pages loads and my site it s only about 400 KB
Just Asking I am not obligating you lol
Bye!
Back to top
x86_Game-Junkie
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 318
Location: The Bachelor Pad, Sydney Oz

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 11:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry dude, your not the only one...
my site works but it has multiple errors...since I put up my first one I have had people whinge about various things
the most are it don't work I keep getting error messages...I have had a few with you have no logos or pictures...I have also had your links don't work...so I changed it to a temp site, one page in length and still had people complaining about pictures...so I guess Geocities is one of those web servers what hates anything that is not coded in HTML, and pictures which are over 14KB.
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2407
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Check www.freewebspace.net for lots of other places to get free web space besides GeoCities ... their forum is fairly active so you can check there to see which ones people reccommend.

Edited by Kazer0 to correct or de-correct the word reccommend. I was just bored, and mad at Emmzee for editin' me post.

Edited by Bobo to correct Kazer0 miss-spelling of Emmzee.

ooooh, look at me, I can edit teh admin0rz posts Wink anyway, who re-mispelled Emmzee's name the second time? You bunch o' n00bs... Meh --Richard
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

crystalcaves wrote:
hi
emmzee

Sorry fot that but I just asked beacasue the <B style="color:black;background-color:#ffff66">geocities server contains a lot of <B style="color:black;background-color:#A0FFFF">errors when pages loads and my site it s only about 400 KB
Just Asking I am not obligating you lol
Bye!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> dosgames.com Site Suggestions All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)