DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Slots and Sockets

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 7:08 am     Post subject: Slots and Sockets Reply with quote

Does anyone know why the Pentium II was used with a slot instead of a socket? Did Intel save money by doing that? Or what?
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Early pentium III's were slotted too. Through what I've heard, it was done b/c the socket versions had heat problems and they couldn't produce a proper fan & heatsink combo to do the tirck, so they made those behemoth slot chips to do all the cooling and such.

-Richard-
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 4:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Early celerons ran off slot as well. I have a slot 1 pII 266.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 4:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

What else is strange is that they later switched to the old-fashioned socket (like 486 and Pentium 1).
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 5:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

with newer technology they were able to correct the heating problems.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess it was lower voltage, right?
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually no idea.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:11 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

There's also the versatility of using the same MBoard for P-II, P-III and Celeron. Just change the CPU daughterboard. Upgrade path is easy that way.... but they found they weren't making as much money on new mobo's. Hence back to a dedicated socket. And a few people in wet/dusty adverse climates had relibility problems with dirt and corrosion in the slot.

That's the skinny I got.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)