DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Iron Assault [XP]

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Videopacker
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 2:34 pm     Post subject: Iron Assault [XP] Reply with quote

So I have found my copy of iron assault.
I would like to see if I can run it on XP.
I installed it on the C drive.
I went to command prompt, which I'm aware isn't real dos.
I tried to enter the code the game suggested.

C: (enter) - Didn't accept it.
CD/IRON (enter) - didn't accept it, though I was kinda clutching at loose straws here
Iron (enter) - didnt accept it - i thought it might work :S

Now I'm stuck. I hate using you all for info, but I just wanna play Iron assault.

Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:28 pm     Post subject: Re: Iron Assault [XP] Reply with quote

Videopacker wrote:
...but I just wanna play Iron assault

Gonna need some effort from your side to 'just play Iron Assault'.... Laughing
Is a dosgame, forget running it directly in XP or XP command window, you'll need dosbox.

Your first steps:
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5443
Yes, you gonna need that.
Next install the game whithin dowbox and run it in dosbox.

Edited your topic tittle to something more understandable ......
Back to top
Videopacker
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 2:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. apologies for the delay.

I've got Dosbox. Mounted the C drive.

When I type install the menu comes up for language selection, but when you select it an error occurs.

"Cannot open install.inf."

Can that be worked around?

Ta
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:03 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Your C mount line ....???? Detailed please.

Also: Iron Assault is a CD game, you also need to mount your CD as D drive in dosbox and install game from D on C within dosbox.
mount d x:\ -t cdrom
Replace X:\ by real CD drive letter in dosbox.

After you mounted C and D go to D: and input install

Install game and you're all done, simply accept everything proposed (need to check that, been a while I installed game, but I don't remember any problems there ... )
Also: best create a CD image (ISO) from your CD and use imgmount to mount it s D drive, will run better than the real CD.
Back to top
Videopacker
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I will have a proper attempt tomorrow.
Initially that seems complicated. Laughing

Thanks
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Checked install procedure, it's really simple and straight forward.

First of all, install dosbox properly in XP, read and apply
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5443

Next , as said, mount CD or CD image(better) as D and install from D on C.

(mount( lines are mine of course, eventually adapt to your drives/image)

Accept all


Next setup sound card properly for dosbox

Correct settings are:
Adress 220
IRQ 7
and NOT 5 as proposed, alter to 7
DMA 1

alter mouse/keyb/joystick at your wishes .....

All done, run game from C:\iron with iron


Next time you wanna play:
C and D must be mounted
Input:
cd iron
iron


That's it.
Should you encounter problems: please give all your mount lines detailed and your inputs/choices.

Should you need a soft to create dosbox compat CD images:
http://www.imgburn.com/
Freeware and really good.
Back to top
Airiz
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. I successfully got this game to work but stuck with another problem. The game just doesn't save my progress. Any time i exit game, all profiles reset, with no progress on them. I removed "read-only" status from all files and folders, but with no effect. Any ideas how to solve this?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)