DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Don't pirate MS-DOS, get FreeDOS!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Gaming
Author Message
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:55 pm     Post subject: Don't pirate MS-DOS, get FreeDOS! Reply with quote

FreeDOS works really well for almost all DOS games. If you have a pirate copy of MS-DOS, GET RID OF IT and get FreeDOS!!!

http://www.freedos.org

If a game that worked in MS-DOS does not work in FreeDOS, please let me know and I might be able to help you. (This should be very rare, however)

FreeDOS has been in development since 1994 and it is very mature and stable. It can even provide over 600 KB of free DOS conventional RAM!!!

If you need help in implementing FreeDOS, please let me know.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 8:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, this is good for sure Wink

However if you are like me and already own multiple copies of MS-DOS, you usually don't have to worry about it but then again you may have to install some memory management tools like QEMM as well, which I also own Happy
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 1:16 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody make a DOS yet that works with fat32 formatted drives larger then 2gb?
Back to top
Splodginator
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Nowhere.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw this version called MS-DOS 7 (I think thats what it was called) that was supposedly free (It had installation disk images). I think it worked with FAT32 drives.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats a hack ripping out the dos that runs under windows 95 osr2, not a stand alone product.
Back to top
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:30 am     Post subject: FAT32 Reply with quote

FreeDOS can support FAT32!
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:58 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

@J-Man, is that native support for FAT32 or do you have to run a device driver via CONFIG.SYS or what ?!?
Back to top
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 11:25 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

That's native support built in the kernel.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 11:36 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

That feature alone may indeed make it worth a look, thanks Wink
Back to top
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:52 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Jmmijo, there are two versions of the FreeDOS kernel, one supports FAT32, the other one doesn't. Other than that, they are almost identical. Make sure you get the right one if you want FAT32 support.

I have finally finished the FreeDOS boot disk setup. Download it at:

http://www.geocities.com/axsclf/freedos.zip

Make sure you right-click and Save Target As... (don't do a normal left-click).

Extract it to its own directory and run SETUP.BAT.


Last edited by J-Man on Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 5:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I edited my last post to include most of what used to be on this post (thanks Dogbreath).

Last edited by J-Man on Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:42 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 7:03 pm     Post subject: Re: FreeDOS Disk Release Reply with quote

J-Man wrote:
(I can't edit my last post)


Yes you can. It's the button right beside the "quote."
Back to top
Oz
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 15 Sep 2002
Posts: 581
Location: London, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 12:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

err.... humm. can in install this on a drive/drive partition that has another Os on it? (eg i have windows ME on drive c:, i instal this over the top). would that work?
Back to top
J-Man
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 5:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Go ahead and install FreeDOS on that C: partition. It will safely retain your data, install itself on that partition, and then you can boot FreeDOS from that C: partition. All except 5 of your files will be saved.

These 5 files will be deleted to make way for the FreeDOS installation:

IO.SYS
MSDOS.SYS
COMMAND.COM
CONFIG.SYS
AUTOEXEC.BAT

Everything else should be safe. When FreeDOS is finished installing, you can boot it up to your hard drive and run whatever DOS games or programs you have.

If you install FreeDOS over Windows ME (or other Windows), you won't be able to go back to Windows until you boot up with a startup disk and type SYS C: so make sure you have a startup disk handy just in case you ever want to go back to Windows.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 6:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I d/l all the files from the site and I'll look at them in a little bit. I have to decide on what kind of box I want to install this onto, so many parts and so little time Shifty
Back to top
Interon
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 7:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

J-Man wrote:
I have finally finished the FreeDOS boot disk setup. Download it at:

http://www.geocities.com/axsclf/freedos.zip


Update: That link is dead. If you want a FreeDOS package, PM me.



(Note to Dogbreath: I'm 99.999% sure this is a valid revival.)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Gaming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)