DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Windows 64 bit . idk how to get gamez. help?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
zombiechief369
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 12:36 pm     Post subject: Windows 64 bit . idk how to get gamez. help? Reply with quote

i have a windows vista 64 bit version. how do i get any games .nmw game i dl they dnt werk. sumone peez help me. idk wat to do
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 1:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Use dosbox to run dosgames, works fine in Vista64.
Same principle as:
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10437

You'll also need a good unarchiver, 7zip is one, freeware and works fine in Vista64.
http://www.7-zip.org/
Install the x64 7zip msi.

BTW, if you're really on Vista64 you shouldn't need to ask those questions, you should have enough knowledge already .... *sigh*
Back to top
Guated
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 06 Sep 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 2:18 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

sadly many stores are selling windows vista 64 bit ONLY. Most programs need windows license to work. Windows just strait up doesn't allow them to function with out a license. Least that's what i've been told. GL
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 5:11 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Guated wrote:
... Most programs need windows license to work.

Not true.
You only will get the 'this program is not certified' blah blah when installing, that's all.
Windows isn't Mac, it doesn't block non-certified programs.

Of course you can't run 16 bit programs in Win64, but 32 bits are fully supported.

Remains the question: why do you need a 64 bits OS at home? I wouldn't know.
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2406
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 12:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

The only reason I know of to use 64bit is so that you can use 4gb or more of RAM ... ex, I have 4gb of RAM in my PC right now but cuz I have 32bit windows it only sees 3gb Sad
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 12:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

And more RAM = moar speed if you're running a memory hog rig.


Oh and you get an extra 0.4MHz! Whoopeee!
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 1:52 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

An interesting article:
http://www.vistaclues.com/reader-question-32-bit-vista-memory-limits/

Know what you want, do you want compability? 32 bit OS it will be.
And after all, compability, that's what you want for your home PC.

Another matter is a 'work' PC or 'industrial' one, were you can run designed 64 bit programs, and won't have to run the old 16 bit ones.
There a 64 bit OS is the way to go.
Back to top
Guated
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 06 Sep 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 11:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure if "Games For Girls" is 16 bit or 32bit. I have family that asked me if i could find a way to get it to work on 64 bit vista. I'm going to have a look around. I'll change this post if I find a vista program that allows it to work. Or at least clames to.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:49 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Always could try VPC2007 + W98SE ....
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)