DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Im clueless please help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Texan
Guest






PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 5:33 pm     Post subject: Im clueless please help Reply with quote

well i downloaded warcraft 1 and i think i installed it correctly now i just have to get it to work. please help i have no idea how to run it or anything. ie never used dos.
Back to top
Splodginator
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Nowhere.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 8:12 pm     Post subject: How to Run Warcraft in DOS Reply with quote

If you installed it in C:\Games\Warcraft (where I installed it):
Type:
If not in C:\:
Code:
CD /d C:\Games\Warcraft
War

If in C:\
Code:
CD \Games\Warcraft
War

CD- change directory (also chdir)
War- the Warcraft Main executable
Back to top
Texan
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 1:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i downloaded it into a folder on my destop, i named the folder warcraft. can u tell me how to open it like that?
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 2:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Reinstall to a folder in your C drive and follow those instruction.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 2:32 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You CAN get to it through dos when its on your desktop, but it would be impossible for YOU to find it if you didnt knw dos.
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 2:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly. It is posible (I've done so myself) but it's a lot more complicated and pointless. Just install to C drive.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)