DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


GAMER's questions about everything that crosses her mind ...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Off-Topic
Author Message
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

"The audio driver files do not support your hardware."

Cool GAMER
Back to top
AdamN
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 261
Location: in your basement with a blood-covered axe

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

then try this one then Device Driver

AD1986 Driver (Soundmax)
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmpf, it claims to be a Vista driver, but once again it's an upgraded XP driver .....
*Crosses fingers.*
Benevolent
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

"The audio driver files do not support your hardware."

...Should i just go get a new one?

Cool GAMER

Edit: It's making sounds from the computer now... Shifty BEEP!
What do they call those sounds? I know they have a name...
The actual computer sound ones? Hmm...
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:38 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

GAMER wrote:
Edit: It's making sounds from the computer now... Shifty BEEP!
What do they call those sounds? I know they have a name...
The actual computer sound ones? Hmm...

BEEP! Laughing


Ahem, serious now:
If those sounds are made at booting they're called BIOS error beeps.
That's what they mean:
http://www.5starsupport.com/info/beep_codes.htm
What kind of BIOS you have is listed when your system boots.

If the beeps occur after boot and the PC is already in windows you're probably kneedeep in the shit.

A thought:
Maybe, *maybe*, it wouldn't be a bad idea to look for a Vista compatible PCI PnP soundcard and disable the onboard soundchip in your BIOS.
It would cost you some extra $$ but at least you would get a fully performant soundcard.
It all depends how much importance good sound has for you ....

[Edit]
You always could try first a reinstall from scratch and use the sounddriver AdamN pointed to, seems to be one of the 'best' -(ahem)- Vista ones around.
Burn them on a CD first, when Vista wants to install sound devices point it towards the CD.
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:

If the beeps occur after boot and the PC is already in windows you're probably kneedeep in the shit.


BEEP!

They aren't doing it anymore, but it was while PC was running in windows.
For example, when there'd be a normal windows error sound like if you try to click somwhere else when a error window thing is up...
But it was making them from the actual computer.

Hmm. Take computer to computer people and tell them to fix it?

Cool GAMER
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Gamer, that sounds a lot like a driver error. My computer does that when it can't detect my sound card.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:25 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL@Wardrich.

GAMER wrote:
They aren't doing it anymore, but it was while PC was running in windows.

If it's stopped no panic. The compy tried to tell you something.
What? Probably what Wardrich says.

BTW, if you're up to it try:
First: when compy boots, hit DEL, go in your BIOS settings and look if your onboard sound is enabled.
Then in Windows:
In your control panel -> device manager -> hardware, add new, let Vista do a search, you never know ......
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:07 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Good call on the BIOS setting, I forgot about that option.
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Okays. Shit-Eating Grin

I will try that next time i turn the computer on.

Thanks for all the help, btw.
Much appreciated.

Cool GAMER
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:36 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

GAMER wrote:
dosraider wrote:

If the beeps occur after boot and the PC is already in windows you're probably kneedeep in the shit.


BEEP!

They aren't doing it anymore, but it was while PC was running in windows.
For example, when there'd be a normal windows error sound like if you try to click somwhere else when a error window thing is up...
But it was making them from the actual computer.

Hmm. Take computer to computer people and tell them to fix it?

Cool GAMER



Isn't windows supposed to change to the built-in speaker for error beeps in case there's no other sound support(detected)? Sarcastic
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:49 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Larry Laffer wrote:
Isn't windows supposed to change to the built-in speaker for error beeps in case there's no other sound support(detected)? Sarcastic

Depends if system sounds are enabled or not ...... It's not redirected by default.

I don't think they are enabled by default ...
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:17 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So...I got sick of not having sound.
I took mister computer to the people who do things to computers.
They "fixed" it...
I asked them what they did and they said they just got the drivers from the acer website...
I thought, 'hmmm. pretty sure i tried that.' but happily accepted their words because after all, they are the people that do things to computers.
So i took mister computer home and lo and behold, sound does not work.
Upon logging into windows i am told, "Audio config. has been changed. You need to re-install SoundMAX."
How do i do that?

Cool GAMER
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

First thing to try:
Device manager ->hardware ->sounddevice ->drivers ->update drivers(or reinstall, something) -> let Vista do a search for itself, with a bit of luck it will find the appropiate drivers, and if not .... pfffffffffff, start over from square one.
Be sure to have:
Internet conn and the Vista dvd in the drive.

But if you really have a soundmax (*IF*) I fear you're in kinda shit, it seems they really don't want to write appropiate Vista drivers for that older model.

Maybe the simpliest and probably best solution will be to disable the soundchip in the BIOS and plug in a Vista compatible soundcard ....
Back to top
cyb3r.god3
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:32 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

on the topic of sound, anyone know why my sound card would distort all sound that comes through (it aint the speakers) and would there be a way to fix it
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

*ahem*
This is GAMER's questions about everything that crosses her mind...

Okay. I'll try all that junk.
Then when it doesn't work i'll take puter back to the people and tell them.

Cool GAMER
Back to top
cyb3r.god3
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:12 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

GAMER wrote:
*ahem*
This is GAMER's questions about everything that crosses her mind...


sorry, but its starting to piss me off, its like listening to a radio with a bad signal
Back to top
AdamN
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 261
Location: in your basement with a blood-covered axe

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

cyb3r.god3 wrote:

GAMER wrote:

*ahem*
This is GAMER's questions about everything that crosses her mind...

sorry, but its starting to piss me off, its like listening to a radio with a bad signal


I usually get that with AM radio, never had problems with FM except when I'm travelling to Sydney and want Nova or Triple M.
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:28 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

GAMER has another question.
I open my internet explorer browser... because i haven't bothered downloading mozilla yet, so if that is your suggestion, yes, i will do that soon...
and it comes up with the ninemsn homepage, because that is what is the default.
i then type in "google" and an error message comes up that says, "google is unavailable".
don't get me wrong, it's not a PAGE that says, "cannot be shown bla bla check your internets connection" it is an error message... like in a little box that is headed "INTERNET EXPLORER" and says "google is unavailable".
When i then go to close the window another comes up and says, "This window is busy, closing it... something something..." but not the standard, "program is not responding" bullshit.
I have this window, and another window open and it isn't happening with those windows...
Only new windows that i open.
So, yes. What the?

Cool GAMER
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

And now it's fine...?

Cool GAMER
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Off-Topic All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)