DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Saving files from old HDs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4635

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:11 pm     Post subject: Saving files from old HDs Reply with quote

*Topic split from http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10999 *
Anonymous wrote:
Sorry but I think I'm going to give up, I will try one more thing and that is getting the super old computer out of my garage and hope it still works with all the spiders in it, maby it was a installed game on that computer, if it's not that, than it's a cd with more than 100 games on it and I have no idee where that cd could be. Probaly it will take a while before il post something about the game.



You know this game does sound familiar, but I have no idea of the game name myself.

Spiders dont hurt computers, its water and dry rot. I'd be surprised if it worked and then 5 minutes later ZAAAP
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

A real optimist, our Wally ....... Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
hmmmm
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:14 am     Post subject: crap... Reply with quote

Positivly dead xD. It sucks that I will never know the game.....
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You always can try to hook the harddisk in another PC, I've saved files from HDs that weren't used in 10-15 years with that method. Unused HDs hold data much longer then floppies, certainly the old ones, they are rock solid.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4635

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

just make sure you dust the bloody thing down and slave it off.

You would have a lot of problems if you didnt slave it off. Such as the old OS booting and wanting 100220000 drivers before you can use it.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahem Wally, I can hook old Dos6.22 HDs as primairy in my AMD64 3500+/1GB RAM and it boots/runs perfectly ....... we aren't talking crappy incompatible Macs here LOLZ. Maybay he'll get a soundcard error, but that's no problem at all. There won't be driver problems as they are on his HD.

sorry Tbbbbbth!
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4635

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

oh dos, yes but he could have had windows 95 on them Happy
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

.....Windows 95/98/ME can boot in dosmode..... no problem.


Meh
simply give it up Wally Happy
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:15 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Situation:
->Old primairy MSDos6.22 HD 305Mb. Me wants to save the files.
->Vista PC, primairy HD, secondary data HD, network drive ... etcetera.


-> Me disconnects secondary data HD from Vista PC, hooks ol'Dos HD in.
Vista boots, no protest at all (Vista HD is set as only bootable in BIOS)

What gives?

Vista sees and can read the ol'Dos HD



Copied the whole stuff to a network drive:


Tadaaaaaa, all my files are on the network drive, accessible and saved.


-> disconnect ol'Dos HD and reconnect secondary data HD, done.

See Wally, no pain, total duration: less than 20 minutes and all is done.

Resized the pics to 800x600, saves load time Happy
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4635

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

oh your a smartass Tbbbbbth!

Thanks for the laugh though. Laughing
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome.
Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)