DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


USB Joystick with DOS game

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
franmol
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:16 am     Post subject: USB Joystick with DOS game Reply with quote

Is there any way to get a USB joystick to work with a very old DOS based game?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You can mount USB folders in dosbox. Works flawless.
Back to top
franmol
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:40 am     Post subject: USB joystick with DOS game Reply with quote

That sounds very encouraging. I don't know what is meant by "USB folders", though.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoopsy overlooked that 'joystick' thing, you may blame Wally for that.
Thought it was about a USB stick LOLZ.

Nevertheless: USB joysticks are supported by dosbox.
So: run your dosgames in dosbox, you will be able to use your USB joystick in them. (Be sure to have it calibrated in windows first).
Back to top
franmol
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:49 pm     Post subject: USB joystick in Dosbox Reply with quote

Thank you for the excellent advice. It all works beautifully now.
Back to top
SPCKaldor
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:08 am     Post subject: Joystick Reply with quote

How do you get the USB joystick to work in DOSBox and work with old games?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:56 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You plug the joystick in the computer and run the games in dosbox.
The joystick must of course work and been calibrated in Windows .
Back to top
SPCKaldor
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:40 pm     Post subject: Joystick Reply with quote

Okay, now how do I calibrate it and set it up so it works in DOSbox?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You plug it in, calibrate it in Windows, run dosbox, start your game, if *IF* the game supports a joystick it will work in dosbox.
Maybe you'll need to enable joystick in the game options, or not, depends of the game.

For example:
Corncob3D auto detects a joystick.
Keen 4 doesn't, you need to enable it in the game config panel.
Back to top
SPCKaldor
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:26 pm     Post subject: Joystick Reply with quote

Game config panel. Isnt that the keymapper?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope.
Config panel ingame. (If memory serves it's under 'configure' in Keen4 game.)
Back to top
DaveBrown27
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:31 pm     Post subject: Thrustmaster T.Flight Hotas X Reply with quote

My new Thrustmaster T.Flight Hotas X works great in Windows. But, how do I make it work in DosBox?

My Thrustmaster T.Flight Hotas X has 5-axis and 12 buttons.

Thanks in Advanced,
Dave
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Plenty of axis and buttons .... but should work as a 'normal' joystick in dosbox.

No idea what's wrong, really none.
You always could try to alter the settings under
[JOYSTICK] in dosbox conf
Things that come in mind:
Play with 'joysticktype='
And alter 'timed=' from true to false.

Otherwise ask if someone knows @ http://vogons.zetafleet.com/index.php
Back to top
DaveBrown27
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:12 pm     Post subject: Map Throttle to Axis5 Reply with quote

Joystick = T.Flight Hotas X

Game = Nighthawk F-117A Stealth Fighter 2.0

How do I map the THROTTLE to Axis-4 on my joystick in DosBox?
I would like to map the following in DosBox:
+ to Max Throttle
= to increase Throttle
- to decrease Throttle
_ to Zero Throttle

I can map everything else. But, could not figure out the throttle.

Thanks in Advanced,
Dave
Back to top
Superjustinbros
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:34 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

There's this game I own; well, two to be exact. Champ Pac-Em and Champ Ms. Pac-Em. I own several USB joysticks but whenever I switch the in-game control scheme to Joystick, the game continually shouts "Joystick Not Found!" even if a fully working joystick/game pad is plugged into the machine.

I'm doing this mostly on real hardware, not just DOSBox.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:45 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Dos games (like the Pack-Ems) don't understand USB / windows joysticks, so something has to convert windows joystick API to dos joystick "API". Even if the game runs, it won't see your windows joysticks because it's a dos game.

(Don't get me started on IBM PC "Joystick" interface! Blech! A bit better hardware/software interface and Dos games would have rivaled Nintendo.)

DosBox is the way to go.

Also, dos joysticks were _always_ troublesome, and lots of dos games are solid on keyboards and weak on joysticks. DosBox does about as good as could be done. All that to say, joystick and DosBox might be fine, but the game may be the problem.

And, DosBox can convert joystick commands to keyboard commands, and you can use joysticks more easily that way sometimes, just mapping joystick to game key commands using the DosBox Mapper (F1).


(edit for tipos and key->joy mapping)
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1182

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:09 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Or...
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, wanted one of those! Does it really work for generic DOS joysticks? I'll have to give it a try.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)